Department of Town Planning and Housing-Urbanguard

Stakeholder Participation

An indicator shortlist was then sent to all stakeholders in Cyprus for a first round of comments, while this list was further discussed at a stakeholder workshop carried out in August 2005. The list was also discussed in a series of internal meetings within the beneficiary organisation, which provided important feedback and guidance to the project team. The main stakeholder organisations include:

· The Union of Cyprus Municipalities and the Union of Cyprus Communities, the main umbrella organisations representing local authorities
· The 17 Municipalities located within the four functional urban areas of Cyprus (urban agglomerations of Nicosia, Limassol, Larnaca and Paphos)
· The Ministry of the Interior
· The Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism
· The Cyprus Tourism Organisation, a statutory body responsible for national tourism policy
· The Department of Lands and Surveys, competent for geo-spatial information
· The Statistical Service, competent for statistical information
· The Environment Service, competent for environmental policy
· The Departments of Public Works, Antiquities, Water Development, Forests, Geological Survey and Labour Inspection, competent for various thematic and sectoral policies affecting spatial planning issues
· The Cyprus Federation of Ecological and Environmental Organisations, an umbrella organisation collectively representing environmental interest groups for purposes of public consultation
· The Cyprus Scientific and Technical Chamber and the Cyprus Association of Town Planners, organisations representing spatial planning professionals

Review of consultastions
Stakeholders workshop

Please click here to print the document