The residence permit issued by the Civil Registry and Migration Department, which is required for the residence of a foreigner/ alien in the Republic.

A person who is not a Cypriot citizen.

Certification on a public document that has been issued and ratified in states that have ratified the Convention on Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents, also known as the Hague Apostille Convention of 5.10.1961.

The foreigner's/ alien’s registration certificate. The term is also used as a reference to the alien registration number.

The refugee status and/or the subsidiary protection status granted on the basis of the Refugee Law.

The E.E.A. includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It allows them to be part of the EU’s single market. Switzerland is not an EU or E.E.A. member but is part of the Schengen area and the single market. This means Swiss nationals have the same rights to live and work in the EU as other EEA nationals.

A national of a member state of the European Union.

A foreigner/ alien who is not an E.U. citizen.

The authorization granted or the decision taken by the consular authorities of the Republic, which is required for the entry of a foreigner/ alien in the Republic.